Monsalvat - the Parsifal pages
Synopsis Libretto Sitemap
Opera Links Wagner Links Articles
Bayreuth production by Wolfgang Wagner

Parsifal the Opera

Parsifal (WWV 111) is an opera in three acts by German composer Richard Wagner, who wrote both the music and the words. The opera is loosely based on Parzival by Wolfram von Eschenbach, an early 13th-century epic poem about the Arthurian knight Parzival (Percival) and his quest for the Holy Grail, together with other medieval sources. Wagner conceived the work in the spring of 1857 but did not finish it until 25 years later. It was his last completed opera and composed for the particular acoustics of his Festspielhaus (opera house) in Bayreuth. Parsifal was first produced, by the composer himself, for its first performance at the second Bayreuth Festival in 1882.

Parsifal Act III at the Mariinsky Theatre This web site presents and assesses a wide range of views about, and reactions to, Wagner's Parsifal, together with some primary material, some source material, comparisons of the opera with that source material, and even some background to the source material. It is an attempt to help those who are intimidated by Parsifal and a guide through the controversy and confusion surrounding it.
For viewing this site, a tablet, laptop or desktop PC of screen width at least 980 pixels is recommended. Parsifal at Vienna State Opera 2018
Follow me on Twitter This page updated on
4 July 2020
About this website

Copyright notice: Except for copying to disk for archival purposes and for normal fair use exceptions relating to the quoting of short passages for purposes of commentary and the like, no part of the writing or the non-public domain graphics either herein or in the local links hereto may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, transmitted or retransmitted in any form by any means without the express prior written consent of Derrick Everett. Rights in remote links are as established by their respective owners.